[Release] The Super Duper Script Editor v1.0.0.0

It’s been a couple weeks since the last post, but I assure you we’re still hard at work. Progress has been a little slow because of the holidays, but we should be getting back into full swing soon.

One of the things that has been getting considerable love, though, is the script editor I promised I’d release a few weeks back. It’s not quite complete, but pretty much everything you need to start your own translation project should be there.

The code is available on BitBucket and can be found here. If you have any questions, please direct them to BlackDragonHunt on our IRC channel.

If you’re planning to start a translation project using the SDSE, please, let us know! We’d love to see how many different languages we can make this game available in! Now, if you’re wanting to translate from English to some other language and not directly from Japanese, you’ll have to talk to us and work something out, as we still have a lot of editing to do, and the script is far from finalized. (UPDATE: no longer necessary, since the patch has been released. You’re free to use our translation as the base for your own project without any special permission.)

Be sure to read the README on the BitBucket page. That said, here are a few screenshots (pilfered from an earlier post).

Previous Post

63 Comments

  1. kingofgame981

     /  2013/01/05

    So… Just want to let you know that I want to use this to make a Vietnamese patch.

  2. liben

     /  2013/01/11

    I am very happy ! that you uploded editor… but can you like… show it on the youtube or something?.. it’s very hard to understand it… this is my first time try to translate…
    and i am not good at english..😦 ..

  3. noname

     /  2013/01/12

    Great stuff. Going to poke around and see if I can familiarize myself.

  4. Mominito

     /  2013/02/04

    i have noticed right now about the existence of the project, Good luck with the translation!🙂

  5. Zelvoid

     /  2013/02/05

    Just wanted to say you guys are awesome for doing this, played the translated demo a while ago and loved every minute of it🙂 good luck with the translation😀

  6. I must said the duplicate function really help a lot when editing. I can’t stop laughing when I just finally figured it out a second ago.
    Hope this will appear again in DR2.😀

  7. Just tried the demo today, super impressed!…UNTIL IT TOLD ME THAT WAS IT FOR THE DEMO!
    Can’t wait to try the real thing.

    I would have applied for the image editor, but seems like you got one already ^^;

    • Glad you enjoyed it!🙂

      You’re still welcome to apply for the position if you want. There are lots of images that need editing, and an extra hand certainly wouldn’t hurt.

      • Can you show how to install it youtube because I really want to translate it PLEASE!!!!😦😦

  8. Cdra

     /  2013/05/31

    I can’t wait to see the script editor for SDR2, as well! Best of luck with your translating work!

  9. Onikuro

     /  2013/07/24

    First of all, thanks to all the team for your great work in this game.
    After beating the game a couple days ago, I started thinking about using this tool to make a spanish translation so I downloaded it with the dependencies listed to try and mess with it before getting to do the work seriously, but when I try to copy the graphical data it keeps getting stuck while copying fonts and it has happened with both the unpatched japanese version and the patched one (BTW, if possible, I want to load the image with your patch ’cause I don’t know japanese). Do you know how can I solve this issue?
    Thanks in advance.

    • I’ll look into it.

      On the subject of Spanish translations, I am aware of at least a couple other efforts. I’ve been trying to get everyone who contacts us in touch with each other, but people keep popping up asking about it, and I’m starting to lose track, lol.

  10. Okay, so I’m trying to install the dependencies, but I’m having troubles with PyQT4, or rather, with SIP (which is required to install PyQT4). I’m trying to install SIP by following the site’s instructions, but I get a problem. When I try to run the executable configure.py in SIP’s directory, a comand prompt window opens for a second and then closes. After that, three Compiled Python Files appear on the directory. Running with python gui, I get the message:

    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File “C:\Users\Gabriel\Desktop\sip-4.14.7\configure.py”, line 38, in
    src_dir = os.path.dirname(os.path.abspath(__file__))
    NameError: name ‘__file__’ is not defined

    This prevents me from installing SIP, which prevents me from installing PyQT4 which prevents me from… Well, you get the idea. I tried using an older version of SIP (4.14, thinking it may be some sort of incompability with newer versions) but got the same error. Can you help me? Either by giving me a hand in sorting this mess or sending me an already compiled version of the SDSE?

  11. Which command window should i open? i try’d update.bat but it won’t do anything
    please tell me how to start the editor

  12. Stéfano Moreno

     /  2013/08/18

    Well, I was trying to translate from English to Portuguese (BR) [And maybe try dubbing, a lot of friends of mine would like so, but that another case] But I’m too noob to uso some program like UMDGen or any other HEXEditor… and like you said “if you’re wanting to translate from English to some other language and not directly from Japanese, you’ll have to talk to us and work something out”

    So… Hi! I’m thinking of translating from english ‘Cuz I’m better at english than japanese hihi

    • Oh, that’s old, from before the patch was released, lol. Now that it’s up and public, there’s nothing to work out. You’re free to use our scripts and tools to translate the game into any language you want.

  13. @blackdragonhunt : when i type python editor.pyw
    my cmd don’t regonize my python either..
    i have 3 python pyton27 python33 and python26

  14. valxonia

     /  2013/09/18

    I’ve been having an issue with a missing file (OPNSSMP.BIN) after extracting my ISO, and when I checked I see that the file is just sitting right there. I have tried downloading a new version, but I’m still getting the same error. I’m quite unsure on how to fix this….

    Thank you so much for your hard work.

    • valxonia

       /  2013/09/18

      I’m not sure if this has anything to do with it…but everytime I clicked “Browse” and point to the folder where I extracted the ISO, it gives me this error…….

      Traceback (most recent call last):
      File “/Users/Vivii/blackdragonhunt-the-super-duper-script-editor-e4cf14c9d549/setup_wizard.py”, line 99, in get_iso
      dir = get_existing_dir(self, self.ui.txtIso.text())
      File “/Users/Vivii/blackdragonhunt-the-super-duper-script-editor-e4cf14c9d549/dialog_fns.py”, line 43, in get_existing_dir
      return os.path.abspath(dir)
      File “/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/posixpath.py”, line 352, in abspath
      if not isabs(path):
      File “/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/posixpath.py”, line 61, in isabs
      return s.startswith(‘/’)
      AttributeError: ‘QString’ object has no attribute ‘startswith’

      • It looks like you’re running this on a Mac. I don’t have a Mac, so it’s only ever been tested on Windows. I’m pretty sure I know how to fix the second error, but you’re going to have to give me more information on the one you posted above this.

  15. valxonia

     /  2013/09/18

    ahh I see…. I shall try this on Windows then😀 Thank you so much for your reply….

    One more thing,…. I’m wondering if it would be possible for me to change the png image files used for the sprites by using your script editor ? (as in creating my own sprites and using it in the game)

  16. Sorry, but it seems that I have an error when trying to open the editor? I get a syntax error of some sort, but I’m not sure if it’s a problem on my end?

  17. Hi there, I can’t seem to run the editor program, and I’m using Python 2.7 and Windows 8. I don’t really know how to explain my error cuz I when I successfully run the editor nothing happens and I just get this. I’ll attach a photo of my problem.
    http://s964.photobucket.com/user/futurakaiser/media/uhok_zpse7c53b05.jpg.html

    • You need to add the Python folder to the PATH environment variable (there are plenty of tutorials on Google). Open a new command prompt window after you’ve done that so it can see the updated path.

  18. I’m sorry for blasting so many questions at you, but is the editor only meant for translating Dangan Ronpa the Best? Or can it be used to translate other games? If it’s possible to translate other games, is additional programming needed so that a patch can be made?

    • In its current state, it can only be used for Danganronpa, yes. Every game handles its scripts differently, so it would require a number of game-specific modifications to work with something else.

      • Patr1ot

         /  2014/01/05

        i will be trying to translate Danganronpa 2 and I wanted to know if this editor is compatible with it.Thank you very much for your great translation and time

      • No. This editor is only compatible with the first game.

  19. Upupupupupupupupuuuuu

    I kinda have a question here y’know!

    Does it work with the Demo of the game?

    Best regards y’all YOUR DIRECTOR MONOKUMA! UPUPUPUPUPUPUUUUUU~

    • It does not, no, but if you’re willing to get your hands a little dirty (read: are comfortable with working in a command line environment), we’ve got a rough-around-the-edges version of the editor for the demo that you can set up manually. Just toss an email to the account on the About Us page, and we’ll hook you up.

  20. Imai

     /  2014/01/04

    Hello BlackDragonHunt
    I’m from Vietnam
    I try to make font in [ The Super Duper Script Editor ]
    But when i play in Class Trial – I have a problem like this😦
    http://i42.tinypic.com/24wddsk.jpg
    Can you help me for add some words Latino ( Vietnamese ) code ? – Unicode
    Please help me T-T
    Thank you.

  21. As far as I can see, the versions of PyEnchant, the dependency linked to on the BitBucket page, available on its website are only compatible with Python 2.6. Is there any way around this?

  22. Fikwriter

     /  2014/02/05

    I started translation and sudden question popped out – can I change names of characters in dialog boxes (when speaker is displayed)? I didn’t found any script for that.
    Can’t find script for ammunition too. Mind giving me a hint?
    P.S: Is there a way too check class trial without building an ISO file and playing it?

    • Fikwriter

       /  2014/02/06

      UPD: I left ISO building for a whole night, but, it’s still on 75% percents… That’s after 8 hours. Is that how it’s supposed to work?

      • Fikwriter

         /  2014/02/06

        Restarted it and got this: http://oi58.tinypic.com/vpchhx.jpg in my cmd
        Probably, Windows 8 have or my damn hands did something wrong….

      • You’re using an old version of the editor code. The memory issue was fixed three months ago, and the other error in your screenshot was fixed today. Updating should take care of your issues building the ISO, which should only take a few minutes.

        As for your other questions, the text box names are images stored in tex_system.pak. You can convert them to/from GIM using the import/export menu under Tools. The ammunition names/descriptions are stored under Menu Text: 06_kotodamaname.pak, 07_kotodamadesc1.pak, 08_kotodamadesc2.pak, and 09_kotodamadesc3.pak.

      • Fikwriter

         /  2014/02/07

        Yeah, now everything works, and I managed to check how does the game looks like.
        Also, found those text notes, I should have guessed that Clues and Ammunition is pretty much the same.
        Thanks for help and sorry for troubles

  23. Hi, I was trying to start translating DR and SDR2 to spanish, and I found this very helpful! But then I had a problem, when I try to download the editor, it gets blocked by chrome saying it is malicious. How can I fix this? I really appreciate all of your work!
    PD: I know there was another team translating DR to spanish but I think they’ve abandoned the project. Last year I tried to join them but I didn’t get any reply.

  24. Can anybody teach me how to install this because I really want to translate this in Filipino for fun😦

  25. Can anybody show me how tp install this. I cried because i dont know how to install this. I know that I am a crybaby but please…… Reply

    • S34n4e

       /  2014/10/04

      Sure. Download all the stuffs you need. After that you must have a cmd opened(I really don’t know if this is necessary) and finally run a file called “editor.pyw” It must be inside the folder “blackdragonhunt The super duper script editor…”

  26. GreyFox

     /  2015/02/20

    Somebody know how to create own graphic files?
    I converted gim to png, make a new image, converted it back with GimConv, but in-game it don`t shown (it shows like totally white sprite). Maybe I don`t use pngquand correctly.
    I need a help! Please!
    Sorry for my bad english…

    • GreyFox

       /  2015/03/05

      Ok, last problem was solved, and I have a new one.
      Can the Editor extract bg_***.pak files, where is all 3d textures.
      If answer is NO, then how can I extract textures from this pak files

  27. By some reason unknown I cannot click finish at the end pf the setup …. Like i click it and nothi happnes but when I click on cancel… Well you can guess what happens, a little help please?

    • Anom

       /  2015/07/05

      I found out your problem. Maybe it’s special caracters like é ç ã on the path

  28. Hi there it’s me again!

    I’ve opened the font editor and could manage to get characters like ÃÊô on the game on class trials but when I did it, all the epiphany anagram got square characters! Can you help me out?

  1. [Versión 1.0] Demo de DanganRonpa (PSP) | TranScene
  • Status

    Presently inactive. Most of the staff are working on game localizations in an official capacity now, which obviously takes priority over fan work.
  • Danganronpa

    Demo: Released
    Full Game: Released
  • Danganronpa/Zero

    Scans acquired. Work paused for now.

    TL ED Pages
    Part I 100% 0.0% 245
    Part II 0.0% 0.0% 281
  • Super Danganronpa 2

