Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone! I know it’s been a while since we last made a post, but we’re still hard at work on the game. Not much has happened that’s merited a full-fledged blog post, though, so most of our updates have been on Twitter (follow us, if you’re not already!).

Anyway, let’s get down to business. Earlier today, Kazutaka Kodaka, the writer behind the Danganronpa series, posted a series of cute little Valentine’s Day-themed tweets. We thought they were amusing, so we translated them. Many of the translations were too long to fit into individual tweets, so we decided we’d collect everything into a single blog post.

First of all, if you’re not familiar with how the Japanese celebrate Valentine’s Day, give this a quick skim.

Second, these are just quick, off-the-cuff translations. For the Super Danganronpa 2 characters, we don’t have established voices for pretty much any of the them, since we haven’t begun work on the game, so don’t take this to reflect how we intend to write these characters.

And, with that said, here you go!


vd_01_pekoyamaPeko Pekoyama: “This year, I’ll do it… This year, I’ll give it to him. I just have to hand it to him, no big deal. I’ll say it’s thanks for everything he’s done for me… There’s nothing strange about that!”


vd_02_saionjiHiyoko Saionji: “Now all I gotta do is ball up this bunny shit and wait for it to dry, and… presto!”


vd_03_akaneAkane Owari: “O-Oh… I figured katsudon might be a bit more filling than chocolate, so I thought we could maybe have a bowl together… Guess that’s not how Valentine’s Day works, though, huh…”


vd_04_mahiruMahiru Koizumi: “I-I did not make this myself! It may kind of look like it, but that’s purely coincidence! I just happened to pick it up at a store that sells– Oh, whatever! Yes, I made it! Is that a problem?!”


vd_05_teruteruTeruteru Hanamura: “Let’s just cut to the chase here… Come, devour me!”


vd_06_kirigiriKyouko Kirigiri: “I didn’t bring you any chocolate today–I left it all back in my room. Come by later and pick it up.”


vd_07_maizonoSayaka Maizono: “I brought cookies! They’re handmade! …Hmm? Did I make any for anyone else? Of course not, you. That was a silly thing to ask.”


vd_08_soniaSonia Nevermind: “I see, I see… So it’s customary for girls to give boys chocolate today… This country’s candy producers come up with the most amusing ideas. *grin*”


vd_09_asahinaAoi Asahina: “U-Umm, hey. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . No, never mind. Sorry. Eh-heh-heh…”


vd_10_nanamiChiaki Nanami: “Nnngh… Huh? It’s the fifteenth? Crap, I overslept.”


vd_11_tsumikiMikan Tsumiki: “I-If it’s not too much of an inconvenience, um… A-Aaaahhhh… Don’t look at me! Oh, this is so humiliating! I’m covered in chocolate!”


vd_12_sakuraSakura Oogami: “Take this, though I cannot vouch for how it tastes. I-It was my first time making chocolate…”


vd_13_fujisakiChihiro Fujisaki: “Th-This is kind of weird, isn’t it? …Huh? You’ll take it? Hooray, you just made my day. Ehehe.”


vd_14_fukawaTouko Fukawa: “You told me not to, so I didn’t make this myself. I bought it at the store, and I didn’t even put your name on it. So, here you– Huh? You want me to put it the trash can? Wha–? What?”


vd_15_celesCelestia Ludenberg: “Oh my. You actually ate that? Ehehehehehehehe. You should learn not to be so trusting of others–though it’s too late now.”


vd_16_monomiMonomi: “Ahh, this is delicious! My homemade chocolate is so much better than store-bought stuff! Now, if only I had someone to share it with!”


vd_17_miodaIbuki Mioda: “Chocolate! Chocolate for everyone! Happy V-Day!”


vd_18_monokumaMonokuma: “And with that… have a happy Valentine’s Day. Upupu.”


4 Comments

  1. kingofgame981

     /  2013/02/15

    Lol, I couldn’t stop laughing of those lines. Though I don’t understand why Chihiro and Hanamura got and appearance in here, I can understand for Monokuma, but why Hanamura!? o_0

    Anyway, thank you so much for this translation!

    • Anon

       /  2013/03/12

      [SPOILER WARNING]

      chihiro is treated as a girl by most of the extraneous canon, presumably because she presented that way for the entirety of the game
      hanamura expresses interest in both genders which probably explains his presence in this exercise

  2. Fukawa the poor thing she’s just got no luck with men =__=

  1. Nuovi capitoli di DR/Zero e messaggi di S. Valentino! | All-Ice Team
  • Status

    Presently inactive. Most of the staff are working on game localizations in an official capacity now, which obviously takes priority over fan work.
  • Danganronpa

    Demo: Released
    Full Game: Released
  • Danganronpa/Zero

    Scans acquired. Work paused for now.

    TL ED Pages
    Part I 100% 0.0% 245
    Part II 0.0% 0.0% 281
  • Super Danganronpa 2